CALL US NOW:   1-844-437-9898

Hotel Trip Reviews

Share "Hotel Trip Reviews" via:

75 Comments Added

Join the conversation
  1. 20 Feb 2015

    Theresa,
    Had a great time in French Polynesia, if you come across any real deal
    packages for Dec Jan 1, , we may have interest..
    Hlton Bora Bora

  2. 21 Nov 2014

    Almost home from this trip. Everything on your end was great. United had a 7 hour delay in San Francisco going to Kona. Thanks for the great package



  3. 20 Oct 2014

    Hi Theresa -

    Just got back.. the trip went perfectly and was amazing. Thanks for helping book it. I have another couple in town who is interested... I'll be sharing your contact info.

    Enjoy Tahiti. We would love to see the pics...

    Thanks
    Andy


  4. 21 Sep 2014

    Our Hawaii vacation was fabulous!Thank you so much.When hike got cancelled we helicoptered to Molokai instead.Spectacular.Can't wait to receive the video!


  5. 21 Jul 2014

    We are back from our trip to costa rica and it was great. we booked a few excursions there and they were much cheaper and very nice. we had a very good time.
    the westin was awesome. Unlike any hotel i have been to as far a service. if you had an issue, they fixed it. it was nice.
    the mosquitos were not that bad so i think they must treat for them very well. we only had issues when we were out of the resort mostly, even with the bug spray.

    our airline gave us one free bag each. that was awesome. other passengers had to pay so i was wondering if that was because of something you did? if so THANKS! that was a pleasant surprise.

    thanks for everything!



  6. 20 Jul 2013

    Theresa,

    Lolly and I returned yesterday morning from our trip. Thought I would give you some feedback. Overall, as you would expect, the trip was fantastic. What a beautiful part of the world. The people were so friendly and welcoming. We really had a wonderful time and are glad that we spent the money on what is likely to be a once-in-a-lifetime trip. As for specifics:

    Air France. First time I’ve been on AF and was favorably impressed. The cheap seats seem to have a couple of additional inches of pitch than do US carriers. In fact, our cheap seats were about the same as economy plus on United. The plane was about ¾ full on both legs; we had an empty seat between us on the way there and switched to aisle seat across from one another on the way back. The business class seats on AF’s 777s did not appear to be lie-flats. The food was good on the return flight; it was a bit weird on the LAX to PPT leg, but I guess that can be excused by the midnight departure. The fact they still offer free wine in the econ section is amazing – at least to this long-time United 1Ker. Don’t know what Air Tahiti Nui is like, but find it hard to believe it could be better than what we got on AF.

    Air Tahiti. No problems with any of their flights, but the carry-on baggage rule is a bit ridiculous. I appreciate the desire to keep large items out of the overheads, but a limit of 3 kg on carry-ons? While they did not strictly enforce the rule, we did have to do some last-minute re-packing at the check-in counter. Were we to repeat this itinerary, I think I would opt for the ferry ride from Tahiti to Moorea rather than wait the several hours for the air connection. They do move people quickly and don’t waste any time in turning around those flights (which is what comes with an apparent total lack of security!).

    Sofitel on Moorea. My only experience with the Sofitel chain is in Brussels, and their property there is my favorite place to stay. I was not disappointed in Moorea – the Sofitel Ia Ora was superb. We are glad you chose for us the beach bungalow; our number 415 was perfectly situated. Next to the bar, not that far from the main building, but not that close. Really, I think it was the best beach bungalow of them all. It was well appointed, too. The food was pretty good at both restaurants, although I did eat something bad at breakfast on 4/7 that sickened me the entire day. The evening meals were good and not that outrageously priced; our final night there at the K restaurant was really excellent. We did not go off the property to eat, as we were satisfied with the Sofitel’s offerings (and I avoided the suspect chicken sausage at breakfast). We did do a boat cruise with Hiro’s tours. It was a lot of fun and the motu cookout was just great. In fact, it gave me back my appetite after the previous day’s sickness. In sum, would definitely recommend the Sofitel. Great job on that one. If there is ever a next trip to Moorea, I would rent a car and have the freedom to move about the island.

    Le Meridien Bora Bora. Nice property and our over-water bungalow was situated almost at the end of the one pier (we were number 245). I noticed, however, that our deck was smaller compared with the units around us. Not a big deal, but noticeable. Also noticed that the Meridien over-water bungalows have the smallest lower-level platforms of any of the island’s resorts. All the others had a big enough platform to put a couple chairs or to use as a dive platform at water-level. Again, not a big deal, but it does give the other properties a leg up. Our main problem with the Meridien was the food: expensive and mediocre. We knew this was not going to be a budget trip or a modestly priced destination. But it got to the point we felt we were being gouged. And in every conversation we had with other guests, they expressed the same sentiment. For example, the Thursday we arrived, the restaurant had only the buffet dinner. I was taken aback at the price tag – more than $80 per person for food that was only slightly better than steam-table, all-you-can-eat fare at a low-end chain restaurant. I will say their cold seafood salads were outstanding, but that isn’t enough to justify the hefty buffet price tag. The next night was ala carte and that was an even bigger disappointment. Mahi cooked in a brown glop accompanied by a medley of overcooked (i.e., rubbery) shellfish. The mahi served with breakfast was far better. After this, we bought groceries at the Chin Lee market in Vaitape and fed ourselves the other three nights. No complaints at all about the breakfasts – they were up to international hotel standards. Another complaint is the absurd pricing of internet access. The $30 per person charge to take the hotel shuttle to Vaitape is another quibble, but I can accept that one more readily than the rest of the nickel-and-diming.

    No complaints about the staff or the facilities themselves. Were we to return to Bora Bora, we would opt for one of the other resorts and avoid the Meridien. I also think we would stay on the main island rather than the motus. We really felt trapped and I think that isolation breeds the usurious pricing. The exception is the Sofitel property there –both of which looked very appealing. I don’t mean to carp about the Meridien, it’s just that with a high price tag and high expectations, I expect certain things. And on some of those the hotel did not deliver.

    We did the Vavau ATV tour and a snorkeling tour, both of which were quite fun and arranged through the Meridien activities desk. The snorkeling trip (I forget the name of the outfit we used – it was the one the hotel uses) was the highlight of the trip, for sure. So glad we did that. We opted for the full day tour, which added a motu lunch for another XPF 2500. It was the best meal (not to mention the least-expensive) we had on Bora Bora! By the way, we had great timing: we watched the stunning lunar eclipse from our deck. A magical event in a magical setting.

    InterContinental on Tahiti. This is a lovely property, although it seems more suited to a clientele that wants to sit around a pool than go in the ocean and do things. So convenient to the airport. It was a great place just to walk around, and we particularly liked the explanatory plaques they had around the property. Wish more of the hotels did that – explaining the local flora, legends, etc. Kudos to the InterContinental for that. We had a very nice room for our last night in the islands. To end the trip with a bang, we made a reservation to dine at Le Lotus. Perhaps one of the best meals we’ve ever had. It was ~$300, but I don’t mind paying for world-class dining and it was worth it. Would recommend Le Lotus to anyone who appreciates good food.

    Transfers. All the transfers worked out perfectly. Everyone was on-time and there was never any problem. Made life much simpler.

    As I said, all in all it was a fantastic trip. I had the over-water bungalow in mind for this trip but glad you divided between over-water and beach front. I think we actually kinda preferred the beach front, as walking on the beach is half the fun at a place like this. But the over-water also has to be experienced. Thanks for arranging it the way you did. You can absolutely count us a satisfied customers.



  7. 15 Jul 2013

    Thanks again for the vip club mobay passes, It was a nice treat and I would recommend it to others as well. On our last day at the resort I signed up for the soon come back program. They offered a very good price without airfare, and stated you can still get credit for the booking. I've attached all the documents. It's fully refundable, if you dont' get full credit or your price is cheaper let me know and I'll cancel it and book through you. When you have some time please check airfare prices as well.
    Thanks again and have a great holiday.

    Mark Tlumacki



  8. 8 Jun 2013

    We want to say THANK YOU to Theresa Wilkes for our awesome, wonderful. Spectacular Tahiti Honeymoon!!! It is Paradise !!!! Thank You again — with Blair Minton.

    Intercon Thallasso
  9. 8 Apr 2013

    Theresa,

    WOW WHAT A WONDERFUL WONDERFUL trip at the Grand caribe! Been busy as heck trying to catch up since we got back but I can't wait to tell you about it & send some pics.

    Fondly,

  10. 12 Mar 2013

    Theresa, Schafer and I had a fabulous time in St. Regis Bora Bora, the MOST beautiful place on earth! We could not have done it without you!
    Juliet

  11. 28 Aug 2012

    "Eldorado Maroma was ABSOLUTELY our favorite place we've ever been!!! I need to get on your sight and write a raving review for you!!!! We have been covered up busy since we've been back though.....If you can get us the upgrade for our next trip, the same room would be great.....I'll just trust you to work your magic!!!




  12. 18 May 2012

    Hi Theresa-

    The honeymoon was great! The only kink in the week was that American Airline delayed my most important bag for 3 days. Other than that we had a great time. Thanks again

  13. 14 Mar 2012

    I don't wanna go back home. This place is awesome! It is just way of saying thank you again. We had a fantastic time


    Arezou Petrie

  14. 20 Feb 2012

     Everything was wonderful. The hotel was beautiful and the room completely updated. We had a gorgeous view and the beach wasn't crowded at all. The jeep was perfect - Brian loved it. Thanks for everything!

  15. 14 Jun 2011

    To Teresa, our tour guide and to our friends on the mainland.

    Thanks Teresa for the wine and snacks. That was a wonderful treat as we arrived here on island #6.

    Our entire trip has been delightful through day 20. The highlights have been the ray and shark snorkling in Moorea and Bora Bora. Yes we did both and each had it's unique differences. We hand fed the rays that felt like velvet and , yes, Brenda fed them too. As we entered the food chain, the sharks were swimming all around us, but must not have been hungry for human flesh that day, so the guide fed them fish. The 4wd excursions riding in the back of a pick up truck sitting on hard benches on Moorea and Bora Bora were both fun and rough. Great views on both from the heights of each island. The accommodations have been 5 star every place that you booked including the room here at the Hyatt where I'm presently sitting on the balcony overlooking the pool and ocean to a view of Lanai. WOW!!!!! In Papeete we were in an ocean view SUITE OF ROOMS; in Moorea , a large bungelow with a private pool, which was very cold; in Bora Bora, a WOW bungelow over the water, with our own private dock from which we snorkled in 10 feet of water several times and disturbed the sanctuary of numerous beautiful fish. We also got bread from the restaurant and fed 100s of larger fish(2-5 lbs) from our balconey; then, the only thing that Brenda and I booked was the bed and breakfast in Hilo on the Big Island, which was not air conditioned, mosquito infested, and humid with millions of tiny little frogs playing trumpets outside our open windows, all night long. Brenda wisely bought a fan at Walmart that first night, which saved the day for us. We did, sort of, get used to the charming room, but were very glad to get back to 5 star a/c. Hilo is on the wet side of the island, so it rained daily, but thankfully, none of our excursions were negatively effected. It's really interesting how each island has a rain forest on one side and Arizona dry land on the other side of the island. The Pearl Harbor tour was great as well. I bought a book written and signed by a general about the Japanese War and got 4 generals who were in Pearl Harbor during the raid, to sign the book. The Zip line was fun , but it took some encouraging to get Brenda to do it. She loved it. The helicopter tour was also great, but that too took some encouragement to get Brenda to do it, since there had been a tragic crash and deaths on Moloki and an emergency landing on the Big Island a few days before our flight.(different company from ours). The only negative part of the helicopter tour was that there was very little volcanic activity. We did see some lava flow through a small crater and a little lava flow on the surface. No flow into the Pacific or wild eruptions like you see on the advertisements for helicopter tours. Even so, we did enjoy the flight and Brenda was glad that she went and survived. The land volcano tour was less dramatic, but nice none the less. We visited and walked out on the 1992 flow that added 100s of acres to the land mass of Hawaii; we walked through a lava tube and we viewed the glow of the lava from 1/4 mile away at night.

    Two accidental happy moments were when I called a Memphis banker while in Oahu at 7am( 11am Memphis time) and was reminded that Memphis vs Belmont was on ESPN within 10 minutes of when I called. We watched the entire game that Memphis won by 16. Then last night while moving our car to self parking, I accidentally came across a free Luau setup for 300 Memphis fans here in our hotel with the party starting in 45 minutes. I found the Memphis crew and Brenda and I both went to the Luau with our Memphis friends.

    The negatives were few. The Papeete circle tour was fair, but it did rain all day. Bloody Mary's was not worth the effort. The presentation was great, the food over cooked. Everyone one that we talked to that went there was disappointed. The glass bottom boat was fair to poor. Visibility was marginal which took away from it. We visited the rays and shark area and watched from our boat as others were in the water with the fish, which we'd already done once.

    Our only incidents were firstly, Brenda slipped down the ladder as she was entering the water for the ray and shark feeding on Moorea. She developed some very colorful spots on her buttocks and the back of her legs. It's all cleared up now. As for me at 6' 5" tall, I've bumped my head at least 4 times getting in and out of vans and the helicopter developing some colorful scraps on my head.

    Today we are relaxing in our fabulous room with it's fabulous view, preparing ourselves for the basketball part of our adventure, which begins tomorrow at 10am(2pm Memphis time) against #17 Michigan.

    Aubrey and Brenda



Leave a Reply

TWITTER FEED:

Turtle Bay HAwaii: https://t.co/Erj5XqD2cu via @YouTube
The Cold is coming but the warm Islands are waiting: https://t.co/npMx44NXmN
St Regis Bora Bora Luxury Overwater Villas - Travelin with Theresa: https://t.co/Hmo6Fnhfhy via @YouTube

Follow us
Close